



## PROFESSOR EMERITUS Professor Hans-Jörg BULLINGER - Fraunhofer Gesellschaft

Professor Hans-Jörg Bullinger is the Doctor Honoris Causa of the Politehnica University of Timisoara since 2004. Professor Bullinger was president of the Fraunhofer Society between 2002–2012 and is currently a member of the Senate at the Research Network. In 2013, he was awarded the Hans-Peter-Stihl prize for his achievements in the development of the Stuttgart region.

He began his career working as a manufacturer for the Daimler-Benz company in Stuttgart, after which he obtained a degree at the University of Stuttgart, graduating with a Master's degree and Ph.D. in Manufacturing. After two years of lecturing at the University of Hagen, Dr. Bullinger was asked to become a full-time lecturer at the University of Stuttgart.

Besides his role as chairman of the University, Dr. Bullinger is also the head of the Institute for Human Factors and Technology Management (IAT) and the Fraunhofer-Institute for Industrial Engineering (IAO).

At present, the Fraunhofer–Gesellschaft maintains more than 80 research units in Germany, including 59 Fraunhofer Institutes. The majority of the 17,000 staff are qualified scientists and engineers.



With its clearly defined mission of application-oriented research and its focus on key technologies of relevance to the future, the Fraunhofer-Gesell-schaft plays a prominent role in the German and European innovation process.

Professor Bullinger is a member of acatech, the German academy of science and engineering.

- 1998: Order of the Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesverdienstkreuz), medal and ribbon, awarded for outstanding services to German science, industry and society,
- 2003: First Class Order of the Federal Republic of Germany (Bundesverdienstkreuz erster Klasse), awarded for extraordinary services to German science and research
- 2006: Order of merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for promoting the transfer of knowledge between science and industry
- 2009: Verdienstorden des Landes Baden-Württemberg (Merit of the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg)
- 2012: Leonardo European Corporate Learning Award in the "Thought Leadership" category.[2]
- 2013: International Fellow[3] of the Royal Academy of Engineering[4]